Massachusetts Approves Statewide Sick Leave
Massachusetts voters spoke up for workers’ rights when they approved a law requiring sick leave for employees in the private sector. As of July 1, 2015, virtually all employers must allow up to 40 hours per year of sick leave.
Variations on the Sick Leave Law
- Businesses employing more than 10 workers are required to provide paid sick leave;
- Businesses employing 10 workers or fewer are required to provide unpaid sick leave;
- Employee calculations include full time, part time and temporary workers;
- Sick leave accrues at a rate of one hour per 30 hours of work, with a maximum of 40 hours; and
- Sick leave cannot be used until employees have worked at least 90 hours.
Under the law, employees may use their accumulated sick to care for themselves or an immediate family member. Doctors’ appointments, home care and illness are all covered under the legislation. The law also includes a provision for victims of domestic violence who need to deal with psychological, physical or legal ramifications.
This law reportedly makes Massachusetts only the third state mandating paid sick leave. If you have any questions about the legislation or additional sick leave questions, contact us today.
Read What Judges Say About Us
Where to Find Us
Boston, MA 02116